Academy students win mid-south student television awards

Students in the Academies of Nashville earned high honors at the 10th Annual Mid-south Regional Student Television Awards for Excellence competition. Students from Pearl-Cohn Entertainment Magnet High School won in the Sports category for their coverage of Pearl-Cohn football and basketball. McGavock High School won awards in the Long Form–Non-fiction and Writing categories. Another MNPS high school, the Nashville School of the Arts, also brought home a prize in the Long Form–Fiction category. The Student Television Awards are awarded alongside the Mid-south Regional Emmy® Awards each year. This year, the event was held March 17, 2012 at the Schermerhorn Symphony Center.10th mid-south student television awards for excellence 2012 Members of the Television Broadcasting pathway at Pearl-Cohn won in the Sports category for their Pearl-Cohn football pre-game show and coverage of basketball games. Gerald Harris, Jay Smith, Jeremy Ward, Lamonteze Pannell, LaQuntay Reid, and Deonte J. all worked on the winning clip. Their teacher and advisor is Todd Young. Pearl-Cohn Entertainment Magnet High School was nominated in four categories in the competition:  Newscast, News Story–Serious News, Arts and Entertainment, and Sports (Broadcasting). This was the first year that Pearl-Cohn students have competed in the Mid-south Regional Student Television Awards for Excellence.

Jack Gregory, Brittany Piercey, and Ryan Alexander were the McGavock High School students honored in the Writing category. Their submission was titled "Pauletta Hard Tack." Gara Gaines, Heather Satterfield, Barrett Depies, Courtney Dwyer, and Kathy Taylor were the students who won in the category of Long Form–Non-fiction. Barclay Randall is the teacher and advisor to all of these students. Videos by students from McGavock also were nominated in News Story–Serious News, Long Form–Fiction, Public Service Announcement, and Audio/Sound.